In My Place

2008-01-24

R.I.P....H.L.

You know I normally don't get upset about the death of a celebrity..because well I don't know them personally and I'm not really obsessed with knowing every detail about someone just because they are famous. However, the recent death of Heath Ledger has for some reason really affected me. I don't know why. I wouldn't consider myself a fan of his. Yes, I think he was great in Brokeback Mountain and other movies I had seen him in...but I didn't just go and see a movie because he was in it or anything.
I have a feeling that it's affecting me because of his age. First off, I thought he was older than me..I'm 30.. I don't look it though...I look maybe 24/25...but he looked way older than me. Anyway..I guess it's that he was the last celebrity that I thought would die at such a young age. I wouldn't have been shocked had it been shitney spears...or Amy Crackhouse...I mean all you ever hear about is how their lives are spiraling out of control. But I never heard a bad word about Ledger.
I feel so bad for his little daughter.. she is only 2 years old...and you know most people don't remember things that happened or people they knew at that age. So I guess, it's that I figure she won't remember her Dad...and that is so heartbreaking to think about. I feel sorry for her mother. How will she explain why her child can never see her dad again. Will a 2 year old understand that..unlikely.
I have just been kind of down about this whole situation. I only pray that this little girl can hold on to some memories of her father!
The other thing that sickens me about this whole mess...the paparazzi..they have to be the scum of the earth. Let these people grieve in private. What horrible type of person could think they have the right to invade anyones life at a time when they are mourning the loss of a loved one is beyond me. I know there are lots who say..they are celebrities they have to understand this is what "the people" want...well I would hope that people would have enough sense to understand that even celebrities have the right to privacy..especially at a time like this.
It's sad what this world has come to. It seems as if all people are interested in is hearing about the troubles and pain of other people..it's sick!

Hope everyone is having a good week...hold tight to those you love because there will be a time when you will no longer be able to... I know it scares the shit out of me to even think about not having my husband or son in my life...I don't think I could survive losing them...they are my life!

|
[ Registered ]