In My Place

2006-08-03

what goes up...must come down..quick and very painfully

Well..yesterday was an interesting day. I went over to my friend M's house to help her get some stuff out of her attic for us to yard sale with..I went up first to look for a tool box because we were going to take her kitchen table apart because I had loaned her my smaller table that I kept in the basement because it never got used.
Well..I was standing on one of those old rickety attic ladders that you have to pull down and I had just turned on the light and was turned around to turn the fan on..when I heard a crack and then I fell down the ladder hitting every step on the way down. I sat stunned on the floor. I finally realized after a few seconds what had happened..I was sobbing at this point because I thought I had broken my toe. I look down and all I can see is blood gushing out from my big toe. It was quite nasty but I didn't pass out or anything. Marty moved the stairs back up and I had to lay down because I was filling a little light headed. She got me a pillow and she surveyed me to check out all the damage. I realized my toe wasn't broken because I could still wiggle it. Her mother kept saying I needed stiches though so I started crying again. Have I ever mentioned my fear of anything that has to do with hospitals, needles, etc. Yeah not too happy at this point. Marty got some stuff to clean my foot off (peroxide, bandages,etc.) when I noticed that my arms felt like they were on fire.
Apparently my arms had what looked like carpet burn..I guess you would call it wood burn..lol..anywho. It took about a half hour for me to get my toe to semi-stop bleeding..so I bandaged it up real quick..she was a bit scarred that she would hurt me so I just did it my self. She did however have to peroxide my arms because at this point I could barely move them.
She had to drive me home in my car because well..I couldn't..and I had to sleep in that awful laying on back with foot propped up position..didn't get much sleep.
Anywho..today I had to take her home..let me tell you how much fun it was driving..yeah..real fun!!
My toe is about 4 different shades of black and blue and I still can't put any weight on it..so walking is really interesting. My arms at least feel a little bit better although they look horrible..I have huge bigger than a softball size bruises and some swelling on both arm. Not to mention all the cuts and scrapes all over my arms and legs. I'm looking real pretty right now.
I am supposed to go out of town tomorrow. Not sure if I am going at this point. I still don't feel all that well!
On a happier note..I have lost 15 pounds..lovely...
Hope everyone else has had a better past few days than I have...have a wonderful weekend as well..
~Rachel |
[ Registered ]