In My Place

2005-09-02

Katrina....

I haven't written in here for a few days because I am just not sure I have much to say right now that isn't depressing. I have been watching the news channels nonstop and I am to the point where I can no longer watch without breaking down in tears. I know a few people who live in the New Orleans area and have not talked to any of them so I'm not sure what's going on. Z's father lives down there and I am at least happy that he evacuated on Friday before the storm hit..but haven't talked to him since Monday evening. I'm sure he won't be able to go back to his house for a while. I'm also not sure what he'll even have to go back to. He thankfully doesn't live right in New Orleans. He is living in Belle Chasse. I am not sure exactly where it's located though so I'm not sure how bad that area got hit.
My Step-brother also lives down there with his wife and 3 kids. They live in Luling which is about 25 miles outside of New Orleans so I am praying that their house is ok and that they decided against evacacuating to Mississippi like they had planned. I hope they went towards Texas but haven't heard from my Dad as to where they are and if they are ok.
I feel so horrible for the people in Lousiana, Mississippi, Alabama and Florida that have been affected by this. I have donated money to the red cross and hope that anyone who sees this will do so as well. These people will have to rebuild their lives. Most will have no house to go home to. No job to go back to anytime soon and everything they owned is ruined. Put yourself in that place and try and get an idea on how they feel.
I wrote all of that earlier today and find out late this evening that my Step-brother's house is fine and they bought a generator and are heading back to luling because some of the houses in the neighborhood are being looted..Please pray for them! Pray for all the people down there.
Still have yet to hear from Z's dad. I do know that his is up north in Monroe,La. I am just not sure what he will have to return to. I am scared for him. I know we haven't exactly been getting along since we broke up and he married. However, I do still care about him and hope that everyone of them is ok and that their house is not a complete loss.
I am going out of town for the weekend, I had already made plans and didn't want to back out of it just because gas prices have increased so much. I just hope that there will be gas available once I get to my destination so that I will be able to get back home!
~Rachel |
[ Registered ]