In My Place

2005-02-28

And the Oscar goes to...ME DAMMIT

And the oscars...are over.. Another year chock full of surprises and moments of laughter and tears!
What can I say I love the oscars. It makes me want to put on my fancy dresses and sip champagne while watching some of the fantastics of hollywood strutting their own stuff! I didn't dress up though, seriously thought about it, even looked through the closet for a minute. Then, Alex made me feel stupid for even thinking about doing it..and well I decided not to..I regret that too. I should have told him to shove it and made myself beautiful for the night! Oh well, there is always next year when I WILL dress up and I hope that others will join in and do the same thing!!
Alright, on to the main event. Chris Rock had to be one of the best hosts ever. I love his comedic style and I love that he has no fear in saying what he wants to say! The best moment had to be the no show of Catherine Z Jones.. who to me seems to be a snotty little actress..but anywho..if you missed it, that's just sad, and really there is no need for me to give a blow by blow of what happened!
Jamie Foxx..WOW..the man had me in tears. What an awesome acceptance speech. He really deserved this award and I'm SO happy he won! At least his speech was heartfelt and full of honest emotions. Nothing like the fiasco of Halle Berry's speech where she sounded a bit whinny to me. Also, I think I'm still angry that she won in the first place. She is a horrible actress and I really don't know why she won. But that was last year..on with my critique.
Love Robin Williams presentation! Glad to see other people disagree with those nuts that are saying Spongebob is a homosexual. It's weird they complain about all these things out in the entertainment world being gay..when no one but these right wingers think it's gay. I really think they are the one's who make to big of a deal out of things.
I keep laughing about Renee Zellwegger walking across the stage. now she didn't fall or anything, because that would have been just too perfect. She did however look like she was trying to hold something in. Now I'm not sure what exactly she was trying to hold back but I wouldn't want to be around when the "bubble" finally burst!
I was disappointed that there wasn't really anyone wearing anything all that outlandish..I was looking forward to making fun of some fashionistas wearing something horrid..but really this year it wasn't too bad..but maybe in a few days when I've had a chance to look at those I might have missed on the red carpet I will have more to say on the worst dressed! I will say that Cate Blanchett's dress was absolutely gorgeous! She's just a beautiful person and always comes to events such as these dressed in the most wonderful gowns. For the men..Johnny Depp, He's too hot to come to the oscars with his hair styled like he did. Maybe he needs to hire me to style that lovely hair! I would do it..for free even! Can't wait to see him as Wonka!!
Well..no shock that Million Dollar Baby won. I was expecting that. I have really no desire to see the movie though. Not a big fan of Hillary Swank, something about her, don't know what it is..just don't enjoy her acting. Maybe it's that horrible lifetime movie that I saw her in a few years ago with Zack from Saved by the bell.. "dying to belong" ..that poisoned me on her. Now there is a movie that if you saw it..you would not expect her to ever win an oscar!
Well..really I think that's enough Oscar talk..I have papers to write tests to study for and only 2 weeks left in the semester..oh yeah..it's hell week folks and I have a shitload to do and the end seems to be coming just a bit too fast!
Have a great Monday all!!
~Rachel |
[ Registered ]