In My Place

2003-07-23

She's getting married...

Where to start?

Well my best friend Alicia will be getting married on October 25th. It's like 3 months away. I told her she was cutting it close. She is going to go nuts with all the planning.

She asked me to be her maid of Honor. Yay! I am really excited about it! I love weddings. They are fun and exciting.

It's a little weird for me.. she has only known the guy for like 3 months and now they are getting married. I have already told myself and Alex that it's not my place to tell her how to live her life. So I am basically here to support her with the decisions that she makes. She loves him, he loves her. If they think they are ready to get married..I can only stand by her and not give my opinions.

I have learned that being the maid of honor is coming with a lot of responsibilities..I have never been in a wedding before..so why not start out by being one of the most important people in it!

I am in charge of the bridal shower, the bachelorette party, and making sure all the bridesmaids get fitted for their dresses. There is lots more that I read I was supposed to do..but I am leaving it up to Alicia as to whether or not she wants me to do those things.

I do know that I have to dance with the best man..who I asked about today..I always worry about having to dance with someone shorter..guess what? He is like 3 inches shorter than me..oh that isn't going to look awkward.

I also have to make a toast in front of her 300 guests..AHHH..I hate public speaking. I always get so nervous before I have to speak in front of people. Hell I get nervous talking in front of a few people..let alone 300. I am going to have to start writing my toast soon..I don't want to wait til the last minute and sound like I wrote it in the bathroom before the ceremony.

We went browsing for the wedding gown and bridesmaids dresses today. She found these really pretty bridesmaids dresses...I think they will look good on me..my only problem..my boobs might pop out of the top..it's just got those little spagetti straps and my D cup boobies don't stay in those to well. What kind of Bra am I supposed to wear with it? I certainly hope not a strapless..I have tried those before. My boobs definitly don't stay in those to well.

All this wedding planning with Alicia has got me to thinking about what Alex and I will do for our wedding. I don't know why I am thinking about this stuff. We aren't even engaged. We have talked about marriage a lot and decided it's best for me to finish my degree and for him to get fully recovered from his car wreck before we get married.

I understand why he feels that way and I know he is right..but dammit..I am ready to get married.

Oh well I guess I can be happy that with helping plan Alicia's I will be able to see the things that I want for my own wedding. I already saw the dress I want today! It was beautiful..

Alicia is dieting until the wedding day. You know how brides are..they want to try and look perfect. I told her she is already beautiful and she isn't one bit fat..she just wants to get fit and look really good! I on the other hand don't want to look horrible in her pictures..so I have set a goal of losing at least 30 pounds...hmm.. 30 pounds in 3 months..I think I can do it! I have already decided..no bread.. no soda..fish and tofu..and veggies.. and about 2 hours of working out a day! Now let's see how long I stick to the 2 hour workouts..if I can't do it everyday..it will at least be every other day. I started my dieting tonight. I ate a piece of fish and some veggies..Hell at least I can say so far I am doing good!

Well it's 2:30 and I have to be up at 8 am..so I'm of to dreamland!

I hope everyone has been doing well! Have a Wonderful Wednesday!!

~Rachel

|
[ Registered ]