In My Place

2003-07-02

my morning escape

When I was younger I hated the mornings. Now I find myself loving them. It's the only time I really get to myself. Alex and Z always sleep later than I do. So I wake up, put on the kettle and then sit back enjoying my morning tea and usually I read one of my design magazines. It's like a little vacation for me everyday!

I have been doing a lot of thinking about moving again. I think that the place we live now is just to small for all of our stuff. I have to keep a storage space just to hold all of the furniture we couldn't fit into this apartment. I have 2 couches, my lovely plaid comfy chair and my dinning room set in there..along with Z's baby crib and all of the boxes of junk that I have accumualted over the last 8 years while living on my own.

I have decided that if I do choose to move it won't be to another apartment. I am going to start looking for a house to rent or one that is within my price range to buy. I know that buying one will probably be too much to ask for, but it's worth looking into with interests rates being so low!

Z stayed with my grandmother the other day and came home yesterday barely being able to talk. Poor thing. He's such a little cutie. My Grandmother told me that before he went to sleep, he looked at her and said, "You know my Mommy is really going to miss me tonight." He was right, I did. He is so sweet. I honestly wonder sometimes why he worries about other people so much. I've never seen another kid who worries about how his parents are feeling. I had to take him to get his hair cut yesterday and when the lady asked if he had any girlfriends, he looked right at her with the cutest look and said, "Mommy told me I can't have any girlfriends, but I have a best friend, her name is Bailey Nicole." He's such a little chatterbox though. Sometimes he drives me up the wall with all the talking. Then I think back to when he was little and all I wanted to hear him say was Mommy.

School will be starting in about a month. I am so nervous for him. I worry about the stupidest little things. Will he fit in has to be my biggest worry. He is so used to being around adults all the time. I just want him to have lots of friends and enjoy school! I also worry about how so many things have changed since I was in elementary school. Children nowadays seem to have much different things to worry about.

I have really been thinking about enrolling him in a private school. Right now he is enrolled in public school, but I worry that he won't get the best education that he deserves there. I went to public school for most of my life and then to private school for high school. I really think that I got a better education in private school. There was a more one on one interaction between teacher and students. I was more comfortable with the small class sizes. The only thing that really bothered me was some of the snotty kids that went there. All in all though I think it was just a better place for me and I want Z to have what I had..if not better.

Well Z just came in to tell me he was up and ready for breakfast. So my morning time to myself is over. I have a lot to do before I have to pick up my Grandmother at 11.

Have a wonderful Wednesday all! Enjoy it to the fullest!

~Rachel

|
[ Registered ]