In My Place

2003-06-18

I'm going on a road trip...

I am so excited right now! I feel like jumping up and down!! Alex thinks he has found someone to proctor my tests. This means that I will be able to return to college and finish up my degree a lot quicker! I hope it all works out! He is planning on asking one of his teachers from when he was in high school. I am so happy that I just can't describe it. I have been trying to get back into school for 6 months and it's finally starting to look possible. I have pretty much been excepted,all I needed was someone who was willing to give me my tests! So today is a good day!

In other news...

I talked to my Mom today, she is trying to go to San Francisco to see her Mom. She wants me to go, but I just can't afford it right now. I wish I could go. I have wanted to go back there since I was in junior high. I have just never had the money or the time to go. I think it's so beautiful out there. I always look through the pictures of me and my parents when we out there. We were so happy then.

I always wonder if my parents knew then that they would be divorced within the next year. They don't look all that happy in the pictures. I know I said yesterday that I would talk more about my Mother, but I don't feel like getting all emotional and depressed. It would ruin the happy moment that I am feeling.

I am going out of town tomorrow. I have to take my Grandmother to see someone. Should be a fun trip. I am not sure if Alex is going with us yet, which is very upsetting to me. I will be so bored if he doesn't go. I know I will wind up getting in a fight with my Grandmother. We get into little fights all the time. I do feel bad about it and I hate fighting with her,it's just that she is so negative. I have never seen a person that is as pessimistic as she is. Nothing ever seems good enough for her and she is constantly depressed and complaining. There is just only so much complaining that I can take before I feel like pulling my hair out. I hope that she will be in a good mood this weekend. I don't want to be in a bad mood and be stuck with her for the next few days. God that sounds so horrible to say, but hell it's the truth.

I am looking forward to our little trip because while we are gone we are stopping by Princeton. This is very important because I am still working on my family tree and right now I am stuck. I need to go to the court house here so that I can get a few of my family member's birth certificates. Now the difficult part is going to be trying to locate their information. I have files and notebooks full of family information that I cannot find. It is not going to be a happy home tonight if I can't find that stuff.

The sad part of all of the family research is that my subscription ran out for the family tree site that I used to use to search for information. Now I can't afford to renew it. I guess I will have to ask for my grandmother to do it or I will never be able to finish my book. Yes that's right, I am writing a book about it. I am really excited about it. I have researched my family back so far,that I can't even believe it. If you have never done this for your own family, you should really do it. You can find out some really interesting information. I found out that I am related to Pochahontas. I did this because I didn't know much about my extended family. I also wanted to know where my ancestors were from. It's been a great experience and it's far from over! I have spent so many hours doing this and I am sure that I have many hours to go, but it's all worth it!

I have to go search for my stuff and finish packing!

Have a wonderful Thursday and Friday! I should be back on Saturday! I will try to update in the morning before I leave if I have time!

~Rachel

|
[ Registered ]