In My Place

2003-06-16

The Devastation

Well the flooding that Alex was stuck in was really bad. So many people are without homes and vehicles. Alex's car is fine although we have to go back and pick it up tomorrow. The road was closed so we couldn't get it out today.

Alex was stuck out there for almost 8 hours. When I finally got to him, he was so sick from not getting his methadone, that I had to drive him straight to the other clinic which is 45 minutes away. I was so glad to see him! I was worried about him all day. He didn't have any food or water. I am so thankful that he is ok!

My friend Kelly was also caught in this flood. Thankfully though she lives on the second floor in her apartment complex. Everyone who lived in the first floor lost everything. The bad thing is Kelly's car was totalled. It was washed over on it's side and ended up on top of another vehicle. I feel so bad because she only had liability so it's a total loss for her. I don't know what she is going to do to get to work. She lives pretty far from her job and the bus doesn't run to where she works. I hope she doesn't lose her job!

The Roads were so messed up. Most of the roads were washed away. They are still trying to boat people out of the flooded areas. Thank goodness I live up on a hill. I would not want to go through all that cleaning up and sifting through all that distruction.

They haven't reported any deaths yet and I hope that there won't be any. One person is missing however and it was too dark to continue the search tonight. I am just praying that the people that lost so much will be ok. I can't imagine what it would be like to lose everything you had. I hope I never have to experience that.

I guess that is enough for now..

more tomorrow on the diet I am going to try...

Have a wonderful night and an even better tomorrow!

~Rachel

|
[ Registered ]