In My Place

2003-06-16

Alex is Stuck in a Flood

I have to write in here right now because I am nervous and hopefully this will help me a little.

There is flooding all around my city (Charleston,WV). Alex is stuck in one part of the city because the road that he was on is covered except for the one part that he is on. So he has no way of getting out. He has been calling me every hour. In fact at this moment I am talking to him and typing! He is talking about trying to make it across the road now that the water has gone a little. I keep telling him not to. I don't want him to get stuck in the middle of the road. Of course you know men..they never listen! Ok well he just told me on the phone that he is leaving and going to try and make it home... this is weird writing about an event as it's happening. He has been stuck in this office building since 8am. He's so hungry and feeling like shit.

I guess I should start at the beginning now and tell you how he got stuck there. I have talked about Alex being on Methadone before. Well he was on his way to the clinic to pick up his dose and he went over the bridge that at the time only had a little water on it. Well that didn't last long. The water rose really fast and he got stuck next to some business offices. He sat in his car for a while until he needed to go to the bathroom. Well he went into one office and he said the lady told him that he couldn't use the bathroom because they weren't for the public. Now I have to ask. What crawled up that woman's ass today? The road is flooded and you have people stuck but they aren't allowed to use the bathroom? Wow that is really going to come back on her. So he went back to his car after this and then a nice man came out and asked him if he wanted to come inside. I thought that was really nice! So Alex went in there and that is when he called me to let me know what was going on. I was still asleep and had no idea that he had even left the house. So I was woke up to quite a shock this morning.

The sad thing is that so many people are now without anything. This flooding destroyed so many people's homes and cars. I feel so bad for them. I am planning on going down to the news station later and dropping off some cleaning supplies to help these people out. I would want someone to help me if I was in this situation!

Wow! What a day already and it's only 1 pm.

Now since the clinic is closed today in our town, we have to drive about 45 minutes and go to the other methadone clinic. Fun times all around! I just hope all this rain will stop so that the clinic in Charleston will open up tomorrow. I don't want to have to drive 45 minutes for the next few days so that Alex can get his daily methadone dose.

Well Alex should be home in a little bit so I am going to get ready so that I can drive him to Huntington!

Hope that everyone has a great Monday!!

~Rachel

|
[ Registered ]