In My Place

2003-03-20

War is never the answer

Well I would have written an entry yesterday, except the fact that the servers were down and I was unable to.

What can I say? Our country is now at war and I don't agree with it. I don't think war is the answer to all that is going on. Innocent people men women and children's lives will be lost.

Why does this country think they need to be the protector of everyone else? We have enough problems in this country and I think this war is just going to make the economy worse.

This war is going to make every other country hate us more now then they already did.

What is Bush thinking? Maybe I should say who does his thinking for him? This war doesn't even have the backing of the United Nations...now that has to tell someone something. Maybe like this war should not be taking place.

I am not saying I don't support the troops. This is their job, they chose to be in the military and they follow their orders. I just don't agree with the orders the military is being given.

In no way is this unpatriotic. I am sick of hearing everyone say that it is unpatriotic to be against the war. Our freedom of speech is what this country is about. For people to call those who have a different opinion unpatriotic makes me sick.

I have friends in the Army and Navy. They could die in a war that is not necessary and it makes me angry.

To top it off, Scott signed up to join the navy. He is going to basic training next wednesday. Why he chose to join now is beyond me. I am not even worried about the fact that he could be shipped over to the middle east. I am pissed because now my child is never going to see or know his Father. He won't be able to see him for the next few months. Then who knows where Scott will be stationed after that. I cried for hours. All I can think about is innocent people, or friends I have in the military being killed.

Why is this world so full of hate.

What will they get out of this war? Hell they don't even know where bin laden is. The North Koreans are building nukes..why not go fuck them up first? They hate us too.

People don't understand why I think this war is wrong. Watch "Bowling for Columbine" and see what this country has done in "our name". It will make you sick at your stomach. People in this country are not aware of all of these things. Why would they be. Noone is going to broadcast our countries dirty laundry.

I have heard nothing but the sounds of bombs on tv today. You know what I think about. What would I be feeling like if I was hearing this right outside my front door? How are these people in Iraq really feeling about us invading and bombing everything? Do they really want us there?

Remember..I support the troops and am very proud to be American. Although I think that if we are going to be at war it should be with the backing of the United Nations.

So I will leave with a song for the moment...

Imagine

John Lennon

Imagine there's no heaven

It's easy if you try

No hell below us

Above us only sky

Imagine all the people

Living for today...

Imagine there's no countries

It isn't hard to do

Nothing to kill or die for

And no religon too

Imagine all the people

Living life in peace...

Imagine no possesions

I wonder if you can

No need for greed or hunger

In a brotherhood of man

Imagine all the people

Sharing all the world...

You may say i'm a dreamer

But i'm not the only one

I hope some day you'll join us

And the world will be as one

~R~

|
[ Registered ]