In My Place

2003-01-25

Who really wrote the damn Book of Love?

I have been with Alex for 2 years and our relationship has gotten better everyday. The funny thing is I still feel like I am gonna somehow screw it up. I have screwed all my other relationships up what would make this one different. Anywho,I went and bought a few books about relationships. Now I should have been a little smarter about it and bought them online,you know for better privacy,but since I am not that big of an online shopper I went to books-a-million. The most overpriced book pusher around.

Anyway...It took me forever and a day just to pick the books out, but going to buy them seemed to be harder for me. The closer I got to the counter the more I wondered what the book pushers were gonna think about me. "Oh she must be in a horrible relationship to buy these" or "Damn feel sorry for her boyfriend" or how about, "God she is so pathetic that she has to buy books about relationships, god why doesn't the guy just dump her, she is obviously a loser." As I am thinking about this I can just see these people laughing and holding the big "L" up to thier foreheads.

Now normal people might not have thought these things, but me, well let's just say this is how I always think when it comes to situations where I might be embarassed. I always think that someone must be sitting back and laughing at me and what they would consider a pathetic excuse for a life. I mean I'm the loser that can't handle a relationship, so I am turning to strangers for advice. People who probably wrote the book because the don't have a relationship of their own. Therefore they want to tell the rest of us what is wrong in our relationships.

You want to know the most sad thing of all? When I actually made my way through the maze they call a line and got to the counter...Oh my God I knew the damn guy who was gonna sell me the books. Another thing worse than that...he knows my ex. Can you imagine the conversations they will have about my purchases?

At least the guy didn't say anything to my face. I would have had to lower my head in shame and run away. Poor Pathetic me....So I paid and left as quckly as possible.

~R~

**

I thought that as a service to my readers that as I read these books, if anything looks like it is worth sharing,then I will post it here. As in actual good advice or maybe just something funny in the book. So maybe that will be something for us all to look forward to!

**

By the way here are the titles of the books to peak you interest!!

1.Men Who Can't Love by Steven Carter and Julia Sokol...a man and a woman writer..should be interesting.

2.Why Do Fools Fall in Love? by Janice Levine and Howard Markman...The title alone was the reason I bout it.

3.Loving A "Difficult" man by Nancy Good..not sure about this one..maybe it will teach me something??

I also bought a little sex book..that was most embarassing..but it was in the relationship section and it sounded like a fun book! It's called Pucker up.. and the Authors list of other books is about anal sex so the book has got to be funny!...I will share that too I guess...

|
[ Registered ]