In My Place

2005-11-14

it's almost time...

My good friend Marty is due on the 17th of this month. She asked me to attend her labor and I accepted. This is going to be interesting. She is having the baby naturally in a birthing center. I had a c-section, so this will be a little new for me. I went to one of the birthing classes and the place and people are really nice. I love the control that the mother has over her birthing experience. I had no control over mine because the doctors and nurses were assholes. I would never have another child at the hospital that I went to before. I even tell all my friends not to go there..so far none have! I know that if I ever have another child, I will be going to the birthing center where I can actually tell them how I want to have my own child.
Marty is planning to sit in the jacuzzi for the majority of her labor..we only hope that no other woman is there giving birth because there is only one tub. She is really starting to get nervous. I keep telling her it's too late to change things now and there is no reason to be nervous. Women have been doing this since the beginning of time and we are strong enough to handle it! I am trying whatever I can folks.. I don't wanting her getting scared and having a horrible birthing experience!
I have been sleeping with the phone by the bed because I don't want to sleep through THE phone call.
She is having a girl..I think I may have mentioned that in another entry. Her parents have been calling the baby Katie..while I for obvious reasons (scott's wife is named Katie) hate that name. She talked about the name Charlotte and calling her Charlie and I really like that..so I hope she will pick that one! It's not just the scott's wife thingy either..the name Katie..just seems a bit on the annoying side..no offense to those named Katie.. you didn't choose the name anyway.
Thankfully the child is getting her Mother's last name..because the dad is a jackass who was all about having this child until Marty began to show..then his ass took off. NICE..really nice! I won't get into that though..because really it's not my place to.
I have a ton a reading and studying to do..I am trying to take 2 tests by Friday..yeah probably not going to happen..but we can dream can't we!
Have a good Tuesday!
~Rachel |
[ Registered ]