In My Place

2005-10-07

babies having babies

We found out on Saturday that Alex's brother got some chick pregnant. This boy just got back into college after flunking out of one of the easiest colleges around here. He's only 20 years old. The girl is only 20 years old. They have no money to take care of a baby. According to Gary, her parents are all excited about this. Why? I don't know. This isn't something to be excited about. Yes, babies are wonderful. I know what it's going to be like for them though. I was the exact same age when I got preggers with Z. I know how upsetting it is when you have a baby and all your friends get to have fun. I know what it's like to have to quit going to college and then when you return it feels 10 times harder. I'm there now. This is not an easy thing and neither one of them is prepared for this type of responsibility. I'm not trying to be mean about this. I'm being real and I'm being honest. Gary is not one known for being a responsible person. He has everything handed to him where Alex had to work his ass off to get anything. Alex worked from the time he was old enough. Gary never had to do that. His car and insurance were paid for. He never had any type of rules. His life is about to change and I am not sure that he will be able to handle it. I feel sorry for them because I think that this girl is trying to trap him. Problem is most people don't stay with the other person just because of a baby. Also, most people don't have a lasting relationship with the people they are dating at 20 years old. It's just reality.
Alex and I are going out of town this weekend. I hope everything goes well. Of course, I will be doing a lot of studying this weekend because I have a test first thing Monday morning. That's always lovely! I think we are going to just stay at the cabin rather than go sightseeing. We have seen everything up there and I have so much studying to do. Just being there alone together will be great for us!
I have been looking at engagement rings but I still think I am just going to go with using my Grandmother's ring. I just can't find one that I really like. I have already told Alex that whenever he was ready to ask my Father for his "permission" (this is just out of being nice, because I will marry Alex whether he says yes or no.)that if he wanted to he could use my Grandmother's ring, unless he wants to pick one out on his own! So, who knows maybe by Christmas I will be able to start planning my wedding. I know I want to get married sometime in the Autumn. It's just a beautiful time of year around here with the leaves changing and all!
Well, I have a little bit of packing to do tonight. Hope everyone has a wonderful Friday and a great weekend!
~Rachel |
[ Registered ]