In My Place

2005-09-18

Getting ready to Party!!

I've got some really exciting news. Well, exciting for me and my family. Not so sure it will be great news for anyone else..but I really wanted to share! Nope, not engaged yet..
Alex's Grandmother is coming to the U.S. when Alex's Mom comes back on the 28th. Well, that is the plan right now! We all just hope that it happens. She is really going to be in shock when she gets here. Everything will be new and I'm not sure she will be able to learn all too much English, so I plan on learning more Russian than I know at the moment. I sure wouldn't be comfortable talking with her in the words I know now. I don't think she would appreciate being cussed at! Sad that those are the only words Alex has taught me, but hopefully he will work with me so that I will at least be able to talk with her a bit!
I can't wait to meet her. I know Alex is excited. He hasn't seen her in 14 years and he said he doesn't think he has even talked to her in the last 10 years. Unfortunate..really. I can't imagine going that long without talking to my Grandmother, hell we can't even go a day without talking on the phone! He is worried that he won't be able to talk to her that well because he hasn't really spoken Russian in a really long time. He understands when people speak it and he can read it..it's just trying to speak it himself is hard.
Anyway..we are just really excited and hope that everything works out that she will be able to stay here with us! So keep us in your thoughts please! :)
I have been busily preparing for my friends babyshower this weekend. I have been planning it for about a month now and sent out the 25 invitations last week so that people would RSVP so that I would have an idea about how much food to prepare. Guess how many people have rsvped?? ONE PERSON. I am a little worried about that. I just keep telling myself that everyone will be calling this week. If no one has called by Wed. THEN, I really will be worried. Seriously, do people have manners anymore? I figured most people would have already called by now. I don't know, maybe I am just worrying for nothing. I sure hope so. I have bought gifts for people. Made up some silly shower games. Used a shitload of paper and ink making my own invitations. They were really cute by the way!
I'm going to go relax a bit..then I am going to make some soap. Yes, I can do that. I don't do it too often, but for gifts I think it's cute! Hope everyone had a wonderful weekend!!
~Rachel |
[ Registered ]