In My Place

2005-03-14

OH what a day!

There are so many stupid people in this world but today one guy in particular just did the stupidest thing I have ever seen.
I was walking across the street with my son Z after getting him out of school when I hear the crossing guard scream, "NO,STOP..STOP" I turn around to see a guy go up on the side walk and around the car that was parked on the closed street. The street is closed for a half hour so that the kids can safely cross the street and get home. It's been that way for a very long time. Back to the story.I see this guy driving straight for Z and I. I get scared but somehow something hits me, I turn and push Z to the sidewalk and tell him to stay there and not move. I for some reason can't move. I'm just like frozen there and the guy is still driving towards me, he swerves around me at the last minute..I don't know how he didn't hit me, but he didn't. I turn as soon as he passes me and memorize his license plate. Thank GOD for allowing me to have a great memory. I'm shaken up after all this. I see Z is kind of shaken up and being really quite so I hug him and tell him it's ok. I'm standing there for a few minutes and I see Debbie, the wonderful crossing guard, running back from the school office. I ask her if they have called the cops because I want to file a report or whatever I have to do to make sure this guy does some time. I ask her if I should go to speak to the principal and let him know what my story is and she said yes. So, I head into the office and speak to the principal and he calls the police takes all my information and then hangs up with the officer. He then says, well let's talk a second I was plan on calling you today anyway, I just didn't have the time. I said ok and he asked Z to go out in the lobby, which he does. He asks me about Z's dad. I'm thinking, what the hell?? Apparently, Scott has been calling Z's school trying to find information about summer school because I told him I wanted Z to attend some classes this summer instead of being held back. Oh I was so mad when I heard this. I sat down and explained that Scott lives in Virginia and that he doesn't have any sort of custody because he has never really been in Z's life. He just asked me that I get some kind of court order so that he doesn't need to give out any information because as of now Scott could just walk in and check Z out of the school. I told him that I would call my lawyer as soon as I got home and that the situation would be taken care of. Oh I just couldn't believe that Scott has been calling the school. That just crosses the line in my book. I thought he was just going to give it up. I know that he doesn't want me to file the papers but it's too late now. He has gone to far and I called the lawyer a little bit ago and asked that she call me to schedule an appointment as I am ready to file the papers now and want it all taken care of! Now I can just pray that the judge won't give him joint custody and make Z stay with him out of state during the summers. That would be horrible! I know some parents would love the break...not me..I like to be close enough to my son so that if anything would happen I can be right there.
Anyway, the principal took down my cell number and told me he would call me once the police had come to let me know what I needed to do. He called about 15 minutes after we left and asked me to write down a report of what happened and then bring it in with my contact information. So I finished writing my very detailed report a few minutes ago and will be taking that in to the principal in the morning. OH what a day! I'm definitly going to be making sure this guy gets whats coming to him. I am going to be there at the hearing or whatever and I'm going to testify or whatever I need to do in order to make sure that he gets some jail time, which is what he deserves!
I hope everyone else had a better day! BE SAFE...
~Rachel |
[ Registered ]