In My Place

2004-05-25

My Landlord doesn't fix shit..where's Mr. Roper when you need him?

Why does it always seem to storm when I am home alone with Z? I hate that. He starts freaking out and I'm not a person who is totally comfortable during big storms to begin with.

Our electricity went off five times today. It would click off and then on again a few minutes later. I feel sorry for my upstairs neighbors though. They have no electricity whatsoever right now. They have been complaining to the manager for the last week because they have had only one room in the apartment with electricity. He has done nothing. We were in the hallway earlier discussing the asshole we have as an apartment manager. The list of things that I have requested to have fixed is long and I have been waiting for what seems like forever. Here is the list:

1. My toilet has been broken for almost a year. We have to turn the water on and off everytime we use it. I have asked him so many times to fix it and it never happens.

2. If you turn on the overhead light in my dining room it short circuits and cuts almost all of the electricity off in my apartment. This has been broken oh I'd say a little longer than the toilet problem.

3. We requested to have our refridgerator looked at a few months (I would say at least 8) ago because it wasn't keeping cool and our food and milk would rot within days of buying it or other days everything in the refrigerator would freeze. He sent a man to look at it about 6 months about 2 months after we had requested and the man said that it was a piece of shit and needed to be replaced. We never heard anything else about it.

4. When I first moved in here 3 years ago he was supposed to put a mini blind in the one window that didn't even have one..he's never done it...not to mention that fact that I would say out of the 8 sets of mini blinds in the apartment only 1 set will roll up properly and none of them have the wand to open or close them.

5. I have had to have someone come fix the leaky sink twice already and it's leaking again. I have to keep a bucket under it and dump it in the fucking broke ass toilet,turn the toilet on fill up the water tank, flush, turn water off and then replace the bucket back under the sink. I should not have to deal with this shit!

6. Last year when our air conditioner broke he kept telling me to take the thing out of the window and put it in the tub and clean it out. First off, I shouldn't have to do that. That's his damn job. Secondly, I did that like 5 times and it never helped. Finally, when the guy moved out upstairs (you know the man-whore that I used to talk about) he gave us that apartments air conditioner. And threw ours out in the backyard where it stayed for like 2 months looking like some old trailor trash dump.

You would never know that I lived in a place like this..because I keep the apartment looking nice and all. It's just nothing freaking works properly. I told the lady upstairs that I think I am just going to look for a new nicer and bigger place for us. I can't take this crap any longer. It's just too much with school and all to move and I really don't want to move in the Summer heat..so I might have to stick it out until September..I don't want to though and maybe with Alex's Dad and brother and Alicia's husband Scott helping it wouldn't be so bad. I can pack like a motherfucker because I have moved 8 times in the last 6 years. I have it pretty much down to a science. Pack my good shit first and don't let anyone else touch it or else it winds up getting fucked up. Put the tv's and computers in my car where if they mess up it will be my fault..Then let everyone else move the heavy ass furniture. The sad part is that moving our apartment wouldn't be that big of a job..it's all the shit in storage..where all the big furniture like my dining room suite, my 2 big couches and arm chairs and credenza are.. that storage place is such a mess. That's not even close to everything that's in there. It would take a month to go through all the stuff in there and I'm sure I would have to throw away the majority of the stuff..all except Z's crib and baby stuff..I'm too sentamental to give away that stuff. That right there is the reason I have so much stuff. I'm a pack rat. I admit it and I don't care. I can't help it, I keep things that mean something to me. I mean I'm the person who has kept ticket stubs from every movie, concert, museum etc. I've been to since I was in jr. high..I'm not sure how many I have..but I have to keep them all in a little lock box. I even write on the ticket who I went with and the date.

I'm worse when it comes to clothes. I used to have a major clothing shopping addiction and I have 3 closets of clothes in the apartment and boxes and boxes of clothes in storage. I don't even wear half of it. I have even been giving away some things and it still seems like a neverending pile. This is why I need a walk in closet. The one I made in this apartment (from the kitchen storage closet) can't even house all my clothes any longer.

Alright..that's it..I'm going to look at the classifieds just to see if anything halfway decent is available. The whole reason I moved into the current place was because there was nothing else even a little bit nice or in a good neighborhood when I needed a place 3 years ago..

Well have a wonderful Tuesday..I'm off apartment searching..

~Rachel

|
[ Registered ]